NOW ACCEPTING

Now Accepting:


Book Blog Tour Requests

Requests to Review:
Horror
Mystery
Suspense
Police Procedural
Thriller
Psychological Suspense
Science Fiction
Occult
Speculative Fiction
Children's: Picture, Early Readers, Elementary, Middle Grades, YA

Mallory Heart Reviews reserves the right to accept or to reject any specific review request. Due to a monumental review backlog, Mallory Heart Reviews cannot promise a specific review date, with the exception of reviews for Release Days and for Blog Tours as arranged in advance. If you need the review posted on or by a specific date, please specify date and reason in your initial email. I try to publish reviews on release dates whenever possible. I post on Goodreads, Amazon, B&N,, and this blog..

Requesting my review signifies your acceptance that review may be delayed.

Contact: HauntedReader1952@icloud.com
Or Goodreads PM: Mallory Heart Reviews

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Tour: INSIGHT KINDLING by Chess Desalls







Title: Insight Kindling
Series: The Call to Search Everywhen
Author: Chess Desalls
Publication Date: January 13, 2015
Genre: Young Adult

Goodreads ~ AmazonB&N ~iTunes

Calla faces charges against her for changing the past. Her use of the Travel Glasses resulted in the creation of two writings that affected the lives of Edgar, the inventor of the Travel Glasses, and Valcas, their prior owner. Now Calla must explain her actions before the Time and Space Travel Agency.

The hearing does not end well. The travel commissioner finds Calla guilty as charged and forces her to choose between two harsh penalties. Despite the risk of becoming lost herself, Calla accepts a dangerous travel mission that may help her find her father. She teams up with a group of talented travelers. While working with them, she soon discovers that she has a special travel talent of her own.

Pursued by the sentient being of white light that’s been tracking her father’s bloodline, Calla fears her newfound talents may not be enough to protect her and her teammates before they complete their mission.

Insight Kindling is the second installment in The Call to Search Everywhen serial series.



Watch for Mallory Heart's review of INSIGHT KINDLING, soon.




Wednesday, May 20, 2015

ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES READATHON JUNE 4-6 [A Good Tales Book Tours Presentation]



"Endless Possibilities" June Readathon

Brought to you by 



June 4-6, GOOD TALES BOOK TOURS blogger hosts will be "Reading Down," exploring all the "Endless Possibilities" to be found in books. Each of us has a TBR selection to jump into. Here's mine:

There's two books releasing June 1 & 2 I really want to dig into:
CROW HOLLOW by Michael Wallace (author of the incredible THE RIGHTEOUS series, and many more)
FINDERS KEEPERS by Stephen King (who needs no introduction!)

For older TBR:
THE ABYSS BEYOND DREAMS by fantastic Peter F. Hamilton
KRAKEN by fantastic China Mieville
THE KRAKEN PROJECT by Douglas Preston
REVIVAL by Stephen King
And: the John Lagos Series by Shane Kuhn:
THE INTERN'S HANDBOOK
CASUAL FRIDAY
HOSTILE TAKEOVER

Now, can I read 9 in just three days? Maybe, maybe not; but I'll sure be having fun, learning, and expanding my imagination.

Won't you join us??


Tour: OMNI by Andrea Murray





Omni Cover Title: Omni (Book 1 of the Omni Duology)
Author
: Andrea Murray

Publisher
: Booktrope
Publication Date
: Mid-May 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Sci-Fi

They will risk everything, even challenging the all-seeing eye of the Omni government.  But will the prize be worth the cost?

Seventeen-year-old Pierce is a Drudge, the lowest social stratum in society.  For over two years, he’s hoped—prayed—that his upcoming aptitude test will finally free him from his virtual slavery and give him a chance at a better existence.  When he rescues Harmony, an Artist and member of the most successful stratum, his life takes an unbelievable twist.

With his gallant act and good looks, he becomes a media sensation.  Every stratum in society seeks his membership for their publicity, but as he becomes closer to Harmony, Pierce realizes what fame in Omni is truly like.  His choices will not only affect him but Harmony as well.  The life Pierce thought he wanted may not be worth the cost to either of them.



Watch for Mallory Heart's review of OMNI, coming soon.



 


Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Partners in Crime Tour: DEAD IN DUBAI by Marilyn Larew (Lee Carruthers #2)







Synopsis:

Why is CIA officer George Branson dead?
Out of the Agency and looking for work, former CIA analyst Lee Carruthers accepts the request of George's wife that Lee go to Dubai and find out what really happened. When she arrives, she walks into a deadly war between rival Merchants of Death for market share. She learns that George had worked for each man under a different name, one in Dubai and one in Istanbul. With his own, that gave George three identities. Which man was murdered? Had George really been working for the Agency, or had he sold out and, if so, to whom? Who are the men following her? And why does she keep finding diamonds?


Author Bio:
MARILYNN LAREW is a historian who has published in such disparate fields as American colonial and architectural history, Vietnamese military history, and terrorism, and has taught courses in each of them in the University of Maryland System. Before settling on the Mason-Dixon line in southern Pennsylvania, she lived in Nebraska, Iowa, Missouri, Georgia, Wisconsin, Ohio, South Carolina, Maryland, in Manila, and on Okinawa. It’s no surprise that she likes to travel. When she’s climbing the first hill in Istanbul to Topkapi Palace, strolling around Hoan Kiem Lake in Hanoi, or exploring the back streets of Kowloon, she is not just having fun, she’s looking for locations for her next novel. When she’s not traveling, she is writing or reading. She writes thrillers and likes to read them. She also likes to read Vietnamese history and Asian history in general, as well as military history. She lives with her husband in a 200-year-old farmhouse in southern Pennsylvania. She belongs to Sisters in Crime, the Guppies, and the Chinese Military History Society.
 
Catch Up:
  http://marilynnlarew.com/
https://twitter.com/marilynn_larew
https://www.facebook.com/marilynn.larew


Review: DEAD IN DUBAI by Marilyn Larew
(Lee Carruthers #2)

A fast-moving political/espionage thriller, this second in the Lee Carruthers series is also an education on Dubai and Turkey, as well as a twisty mystery plot. Carruthers, late of the CIA, still has all the instincts and the talents of an analyst, and all the contacts to go hunting for backdrop on the deceased George Branson, an agent of multiple identities and multiple lives. Danger for Lee presents even before she sets out on the trail of the elusive agent, and never diminishes. If she isn't careful, she may find herself on permanent vacation, dead in Dubai.

GIVEAWAY:
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/3bbcb625108/

Tour: MOLLY LEE by Andrew Joyce









Title: Molly Lee
Author: Andrew Joyce
Publication Date: March, 29, 2015
Genre: Literature

Amazon ~Goodreads ~ B&NiTunes ~Kobo

It’s 1861 and the Civil War has just started. Molly is an eighteen-year-old girl living on her family’s farm in Virginia when two deserters from the Southern Cause enter her life. One of them—a twenty-four-year-old Huck Finn—ends up saving her virtue, if not her life.

Molly is so enamored with Huck, she wants to run away with him. But Huck has other plans and is gone the next morning before she awakens. Thus starts a sequence of events that leads Molly into adventure after adventure; most of them not so nice.

We follow the travails of Molly Lee, starting when she is eighteen and ending when she is fifty-six. Even then Life has one more surprise in store for her.

Molly Lee is the story of a woman who knows what she wants and starts out to get it. Molly is about to set off on the quest of a lifetime . . . of two lifetimes.

 

Watch for Mallory Heart's review of MOLLY LEE, coming soon.

Tour: ALIEN LOVE by Stan Schatt



 Title: Alien Love
Author: Stan Schatt
Publisher: Booktrope Publishing
Publication Date: April 30, 2015
Genre: Science Fiction

Barnes and Nobles

In Stan Schatt’s latest Science Fiction novel, a dying astronaut reveals a secret that blows the lid on a government treaty with extraterrestrials while other alien races have come to Earth with their own agendas. Meanwhile an ancient alien race with a base on the Moon makes plans that could spell doom.

25 year- old EX-SEAL, Jack Starling, has plenty of his own problems, but he can’t help falling in love with the beautiful woman he rescues after she is brutally attacked. He learns how dangerous it can be to fall in love with someone who is not human who has her own plans for him.

Jack finds himself pitted against aliens far stronger and far more cunning than any human enemies. Once he learns what the aliens have planned for him and for Earth, he must race against time before it is too late.

 



Stan Schatt Top 10 Favorite Authors
 
Frank Herbert
William Faulkner
Michael Connelly
Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
Arthur C.  Clarke
David Brin
Daniel Silva
James Clavell
Jane Jensen
Greg Bear


Stan Schatt Top 10 Favorite Books
 
Dune   (The BEST creation of an entire universe)
Shogun (The BEST historical recreation I’ve read)
Light in August  (Amazing texture worth re-reading many times)
A Passage to India  (The tightest written novel I know)
The Great Gatsby  (Beautiful language and tight structure)
The Invisible Man (Ralph Ellison)  (Works at so many levels)
The Foundation Trilogy  (The creation of a future history—Amazing)
Dante’s Equation  (Amazing book—one of my top favorites)
Slaughterhouse Five (Worth re-reading several times)
Existence  (Amazing juggling of plot lines and mixture of science and fiction)
 


 
Watch this space for Mallory Heart's review of Alien Love, soon.
 

COVER REVEAL!: FOREVER MINE by Zanna McKenzie










Forever Mine
Zanna Mackenzie
Chick Lit/Celebrity Mystery
Release Day: May 28

 

When celebrities need a crime solving quickly and discreetly they call in the experts – the CCIA, otherwise known as the Celebrity Crimes Investigation Agency…

 

Stalkers, shootings and sexy special agents.

All part of being famous, right?

Well, they are for Oscar-winning actress Amelia Kingston when she starts getting deeply disturbing and threatening notes left by a stalker – in her bedroom!

When her boyfriend Ty is shot she calls in the CCIA. The agency sends its newest recruit Amber and her sexy special agent partner Charlie undercover to Amelia’s luxury mountain chalet to track down the person terrorising her.

But circumstances force the agency to pull Charlie off the case, meaning Amber has a new crime fighting partner to try and catch the stalker with – and he’s trouble with a capital T!  He throws Amber’s life into chaos, making her question herself and her abilities as well as her relationship with Charlie.

When events in Los Angeles involving Charlie are splashed across newspapers around the globe Amber’s world comes crashing down.

But before she can even attempt to sort herself out she has to team up with her rogue co-worker and solve this case. Can the two of them manage to pull together and stop the stalker before anyone else gets shot?

 

Check out this new cozy mystery series with oodles of fun, romance and smart, sassy special agents from the CCIA.

 

 


 

 

 

Extract:

 “Who’d want to be famous?”

Charlie and I are hovering in the airport’s baggage reclaim area, hoping our luggage has managed to find its way to France too. 

“Before I got this job I thought being a star was all glamourous living, oodles of money in the bank and being worshipped by all your adoring fans.”

The baggage carousel emits several loud clunks closely followed by a high pitched screeching noise before slowly starting up.

 “But now,” I continue, lowering my voice, “I know being famous makes you a target for all the stalkers, murderers and crazies out there. One minute Amelia Kingston is receiving her Oscar for best actress in the blockbuster movie Forever Mine. The next she’s well, you know....”

Beside me Charlie nods and grabs his battered holdall from the baggage carousel. Then we have to wait for what seems like an eternity before my bright purple suitcase puts in an appearance too.

“Still not got the hang of this travelling light business have you?” he says hauling my own case from the conveyor belt.

“We’re staying in a luxury mountain chalet in the French Alps. Who knows what outfits I might need? I can’t pack light for this,” I retort whilst feeling a tad guilty about just how much I have crammed into my case. I had to sit on it to force the lid closed.

He shakes his head. “We’re working, Amber.”

“Yes, but we’re working undercover and the other guests will be glam celebrities wearing designer outfits so I’ll need to have some half-decent clothes with me. I can’t just turn up for dinner every night in jeans and a sweater.”

“Why not? I am,” he replies as we head for the exit, Charlie tugging my suitcase behind him.

Outside the wind is bitingly cold and almost blows me off my feet as we exit the airport terminal and head for the car hire offices. We left behind a warm spring day in the UK but here it feels more like February than May. I pull on a jacket.

See, that’s another reason why I needed to pack quite so much. The weather in the mountains is notoriously fickle. A girl needs to be prepared for sun, snow and rain where we’re going.

This is my second case as a support officer for the Celebrity Crimes Investigation Agency (otherwise known as the CCIA) and I’m still nervous about the whole catch-a-killer side of my work. OK, it’s mainly for the fully trained CCIA agents to do that side of the job whilst I provide, as my job title suggests, support on the case.

I do have a tendency to get a little bit carried away sometimes though and find myself in, shall we say, tricky circumstances. Like on my first case when I ended up in a cave on a deserted beach with a murderer who had a knife at my throat.

Anyway, technically, it’s the agents who are the guys with the special ‘clearance’ to do all sorts of things (sometimes against the law) to solve a case and get murderers put behind bars. Charlie even carries a gun. Which, to be honest, freaks me out just a little.

 

 

Author Bio:

Zanna Mackenzie lives on the Derbyshire/Leicestershire border with her husband, 4 dogs, a vegetable patch that’s home to far too many weeds and an ever expanding library of books waiting to be read.

Being a freelance writer and editor of business publications is her ‘day job’ but, at every opportunity, she can be found scribbling down notes on scenes for whatever novel she’s working on. She loves it when the characters in her novels take on minds of their own and start deviating from the original plot!

Find out more about Zanna on her blogwww.zannamackenzie.blogspot.co.uk, on Twitter via @ZannaMacKenzie or on Facebook atwww.facebook.com/zanna.mackenzie




 

Monday, May 18, 2015

Review: HIDDEN STRENGTHS by Thuy Sindell and Milo Sindell




Review: HIDDEN STRENGTHS by Thuy Sindell and Milo Sindell

A short and fast-paced guide with a powerful impact, HIDDEN STRENGTHS is not the ordinary business leadership handbook. The authors' extensive training experience has taught them to focus not on weaknesses (which consume energy with little consequence) nor on perceived strengths (which tend to lead to stagnation rather than continued leadership evolution). Instead, teach the Sindells, current and future leaders would profit from first identifying, then focusing on, those medium-ground skills, possessed but as yet unperfected. The 70% of skills each of us possess are our Hidden Strengths, which with the effort to identify, then exercise, can become our back-up strengths, and the impetus to our leadership evolution.

HIDDEN STRENGTHS: UNLEASHING THE CRUCIAL LEADERSHIP SKILLS YOU ALREADY HAVE cuts through the clutter to deliver practical, immediate, advice and direction.



I reviewed a print copy generously provided by the authors via The Cadence Group.

Review: THE SAFE by Daniel Barnett





Review: THE SAFE by Daniel Barnett

I read this extraordinary and unstoppable novel for a Goodreads Group. Interweaving abnormal psychology and evil paranormal, THE SAFE opens the walls of a bizarrely-run asylum to the reader's view. From an inmate convicted of uxoricide  who simply will not speak, to a inmate who rules the roost, to a grounds caretaker happy only with his dogs and alcohol, to a motley assortment of guards and administrators, author Daniel Barnett demonstrates a vast imagination and his perfect grasp of intellectual literary fiction. His characterizations and plotting are outstanding.

Sunday, May 17, 2015

Tour: deepFreak by Mars Dumont. Review. Giveaway

deepFreak, by Mars Dumont

A magical mystery tour of virtual reality and beyond.  Love, politics, conspiracy, and fluctuating space-time coordinates all come to a head when a huge solar flare disrupts the event horizon between parallel universes.

Living in simulated reality, SIM, is all the rage in the mid twenty-first century.  But just when it seems that illusion has triumphed and Reality has become irrelevant, Reality throws a curve ball.

Audrey is a SIMdesigner and an artPrank hacktivist.  When her friend Dano disappears, Audrey is forced into the gritty world of Real to find him.  People disappear all the time in this dystopian near future.  But then there are Type III disappearances, so when the young Milan also vanishes, but this time right before Audrey’s eyes, the quest for the disappeared takes a whole new turn and Audrey finds herself unwillingly thrust on a bizarre existential odyssey.  Real?  SIM?  Or hallucination?  Nothing is what it seems.

Meanwhile, Milan wakes floating in midair before the floor suddenly comes up and crashes hard into him.  He looks around and at first the room does nothing.  Then it wakes up.  Milan is on the other side, a place where people meet in Astral, not SIM, where luminescent mushrooms grow in the snow, and the weather knows what you are thinking.


Review: deepFreak by Mars Dumont

deepFreak is a novel with tremendous appeal to Millenials, who are nearly physically hooked to the World Wide Web, and for many of whom, reality is more appreciated when screened digitally. In this near-future epic, reality is attainable on a purely digital basis, and only a few (gRazers) wish to experience the real thing. When parallel universes suddenly become accessible, and reality drifts across from one universe to another, mind-expanding consequences occur.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1fa315a31

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1fa315a32

 

Review: OF SUDDEN ORIGIN (OMNIBUS) by C. Chase Harwood

Review: OF SUDDEN ORIGIN (OMNIBUS) by C. Chase Harwood

Using the theory that evolutionary mutations can occur spontaneously, not just over eons as Darwin postulated, OF SUDDEN ORIGIN is a four-part series covering the outbreak and consequences of a catastrophic event, akin to a plague. A sudden fever results in near-coma, then destruction of the frontal lobes of the brain. The result is a ravenous killing machine, determined to consume all "Fresh Meat" (living humans and animals). Those bitten but not consumed turn also. Named "Fiends" for the disease acronym, these former humans are almost unstoppable. From Florida, encroaching North, they travel in search of food. The remaining U.S. population has mostly evacuated for Eastern Canada, but the bizarre nature of the pathogen means no one on the continent is safe.

OF SUDDEN ORIGIN is a captivating narrative, with a wide cast of well-tuned characters and non-stop action. I won't give away any secrets, but the nature of the second generation Fiends, and the true source of this pathogen, are especially intriguing, weaving in science and "future science."

FURTHERMORE