NOT Accepting Requests

As of July 11, 2015, I will NOT be accepting NEW requests to review or for new blog tour stops. I need to reduce the backlog from author and publisher requests, NetGalley and Edelweiss, and Goodreads Giveaway. As much as I would like to read everything, I'm simply not able. I appreciate your generosity in offering review copies to reviewers and bloggers.

Monday, August 3, 2015

PinC BOOK BLAST: PEERLESS DETECTIVE by Michael Rivers




Giveaway: 

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/a513935526/?



Synopsis:

cover

Once Billy Fox starts looking for trouble, he discovers that—in Chicago—trouble's under every footstep.

Home from the war, Billy Fox leaves Michigan for Chicago, hoping to find his ex-girlfriend, Rita—now another man’s wife. Chicago isn’t a town that takes kindly to strangers, and Billy finds himself barely scraping by, working odd jobs and living in squalor among convicts and other men that the city hasn’t spit out just yet.

A chance encounter lands him a job with Harry Strummer, the streetwise owner of the Peerless Detective Agency. At Harry's oddball agency, Billy hones his skills, learning how to stake out a mark, find a bug, and spot a tail. Odd life lessons and unexpected romance come his way. But as he searches for Rita, an even bigger mystery comes along, one that puts Harry, and Billy with him, in the crosshairs.

This punchy, spellbinding noir spins a web that will catch readers and hold them captive to the final page, when we learn that Billy’s Chicago is a town where nothing is ever truly left up to chance.

Author Bio:

authorMichael Raleigh is the author of five mysteries set in Chicago and featuring detective Paul Whelan, as well as three other novels. He is Professor Emeritus of the City Colleges, where he taught Composition, Literature, and Chicago History. He currently teaches in the First Year Writing and Honors Programs at DePaul University. His novel THE RIVERVIEW MURDERS won the Eugene Izzi Award for best crime novel by a Chicago Writer, and he has been the recipient of four Illinois Arts Council awards for fiction. He is married with three children, and lives not far from the setting of the five Paul Whelan novels.
 

Find Michael Raleigh Online:  
author's website  http://www.midlandauthors.com/raleigh.html

Book Details:


Genre: Hard-Boiled PI
Published by: Diversion Books
Publication Date: August 4th 2015
Number of Pages: 301
ISBN: 1626817804 (ISBN13: 9781626817807)
Purchase Links:
Amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YFBIYDK​
Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/peerless-detective-michael-raleigh/1121884819?ean=2940151331715​
iTunes https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/peerless-detective/id999452907?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4​
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25737287-peerless-detective


Sunday, August 2, 2015

Review: Convalescence

Convalescence Convalescence by Maynard Sims
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: CONVALESCENCE by Maynard Sims

Each time I receive the opportunity to review a new Maynard Sims title, I want to leap to the rooftops for excitement. The author duo who comprise Maynard Sims are super-fantastic, churning out one excellent story after another. Their newest offering is CONVALESCENCE, and oh what a story it is! Coming from Samhain Horror on November 3, CONVALESCENCE will knock your socks off. I often say that the best horror combines the supernatural and the human; and this book features two of the sorriest human monsters I never want to meet! Maynard Sims confronts serious evil, without ever dwelling on sordid, gruesome, details, yet elicits a reaction of revulsion and horror nonetheless. CONVALESCENCE is don't-miss terror as only Maynard Sims can deliver.

View all my reviews

Review: The Hotel California

The Hotel California The Hotel California by Donnie Light
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: THE HOTEL CALIFORNIA by Donnie Light

An endearing paranormal novella seamlessly interweaves the lyrics of the famed Eagles' song "Hotel California." A hot-shot rock drummer undergoes a belated coming-of-age as he finally recognizes his "real" self, and where he took a wrong turn in life. While this progresses, danger approaches, and the choice becomes "Stay forever" or "leave now." Readers will delight at the ways that the lyrics provide backdrop (my mental orchestra played in delight all the way through).

View all my reviews

PinC BOOK BLAST: COLD REVENGE by Jo S. Hiestand

cover

One year ago, Marta Hughes won a purse-choking sum of money at a local casino. She never returned home. Her body was discovered in a ditch twelve miles from her home; her car was back in her driveway. Linnet Isherwood cannot let her friend's unsolved murder rest. She convinces ex-cop Michael McLaren to return to the work he loves. He sifts through a confusing web of lies, misconceptions and veiled motives. Are anonymous late-night phone calls, a vanished hitchhiker, and a stalker wielding empty beer bottles somehow related to the case? Or maybe the woman he broke off with is seeking revenge.

Author Bio:

authorA true Anglophile, Jo Hiestand wanted to capture the traditional flavor of a detective crime novel and the intimate atmosphere of a British cozy. The result is the McLaren Case mystery series featuring ex-police detective Michael McLaren who now investigates cold cases on his own. Jo has combined her love of writing, board games and music by co-inventing P.I.R.A.T.E.S., the mystery-solving game that uses maps, graphics, song lyrics, and other clues to lead the players to the lost treasure. In 2001 she graduated from Webster University with a BA degree in English and departmental honors. Peter Lovesey, author of the Sergeant Cribb and Peter Diamond series, praises Jo’s writing: “Immaculate research, attention to detail and an elegant style are the hallmarks of Jo Hiestand’s writing. (Horns of a Dilemma is) an atmospheric novel.” Jo founded the Greater St. Louis Chapter of Sisters in Crime, serving as its first president. She is also a member of Mystery Writers of America.

Catch Up:
author's website http://www.johiestand.com/​
author's facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/Jo-Hiestand-Mystery-Author/203133803128

Book Details:


Genre: British Mystery
Published by: The Wild Rose Press, Inc.
Publication Date: March 20th 2015
Number of Pages: 360
ISBN: 978-1628308907
Purchase Links:
Amazon http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1628308907​
Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cold-revenge-jo-a-hiestand/1121369112?ean=2940151547611​
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25708842-cold-revenge?ac=1



Review: Fuzzy Mud

Fuzzy Mud Fuzzy Mud by Louis Sachar
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

REVIEW: FUZZY MUD by Louis Sachar

As a mother of three, grandmother of nine, I try to.read widely in children's books, from picture books to young readers to elementary, middle, YA. I confess: despite this salutary intent, until I read FUZZY MUD I had never read the prolific, incredibly talented, LOUIS SACHAR!! [Color me ashamed!] Definitely I will immediately remedy that. Mr. Sachar delivers in FUZZY MUD a perfect book. His characters are all well-fleshed out; his plotting tautly-woven; and he manages to take up certain social issues without dropping a stitch of this superb tapestry. Interwoven also are some superbly deep psychological portraits, especially in young Chad and the "mad scientist." If I, like Napoleon, were exiled to island isolation, FUZZY MUD would go.along.

This book is a Best of 2015, without a doubt.


Release date August 4 2015

View all my reviews

Saturday, August 1, 2015

Review: Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes

Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes Blonde Hair, Blue Eyes by Karin Slaughter
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: BLOND HAIR, BLUE EYES by Karin Slaughter

A short story prequel to Karin Slaughter' s newest novel, PRETTY GIRLS, this story proves that horror doesn't have to be alien, otherworldly, or supernatural to be terrifying and implacable. A tautly-written piece that touches on a number of contemporary issues, BLOND HAIR, BLUE EYES left me with the persistent thoughts of "unavoidable" and "implacable." I shan't soon forget it.

View all my reviews

Friday, July 31, 2015

TOUR: HAIR OF THE DOG by Susan Slater




REVIEW: HAIR OF THE DOG by Susan Slater

Next up in the Dan Mahoney mystery series is HAIR OF THE DOG. Poor private investigator Dan, he's had some rough and dangerous experiences lately! But the upshot is good--he s engaged, and now he'd like some vacation time. Too bad: what he gets is a "working vacation" in Florida, Daytona Beach, to be exact. Dan is tasked with investigating an arson at a greyhound racing track, which killed five greyhounds, sadly, plus a murder there that occurred the same night.

Readers intrigued by what greyhound racing consists of will be educated; and after the book, author Susan Slater presents important information on active greyhound retirement and rescue.



Synopsis:

cover

It sounds like some work and mostly play when United Life and Casualty sends its investigator Dan Mahoney to Florida. Five greyhounds—all heavily insured—were lost in a fire at the Daytona dog track.

So simple. Five dogs dead by smoke inhalation, bagged, tagged, and cremated. Papers all in order. Ashes in specialty urns on the desk of Dixie Halifax, track and casino co-owner. In jail, a young employee charged with arson to cover a murder he's blamed for committing.

Then the body of kennel owner Jackson Sanchez is found face down in a pool of blood, a knife stuck in his back. But Sanchez didn’t die from a knife wound. Someone has carved “thief” on his forehead. The blood pooled underneath his body isn’t his. Should Dan be looking for a second corpse? And the one man who can answer questions, the track vet, dies in a motorcycle accident.

Working this case is not as complicated for Dan as having his mother Maggie move into the FBI’s favorite mob slob haven in nearby Palm Coast, while his fiancĂ©e Elaine Linden, on sabbatical, works on a PI license. Perfect the FBI can set Maggie up to spy on her boyfriend who may be laundering cash in some geriatric mafia scheme in this follow-up to Flash Flood and Rollover.

Author Bio:

authorSusan is the author of the Ben Pecos series (Pumpkin Seed Massacre, A Way to the Manger, Yellow Lies and Thunderbird), a stand-alone (Five O'clock Shadow), a women's fiction novel (0 to 60), a para-normal short story in Rod Serling's commemorative Twilight Zone Anthology (Eye for an Eye), and the Dan Mahoney series. Susan lives on the Atlantic coast and writes full-time.


Catch Up:
author's website http://susansslater.com/​ 
author's twitterhttps://twitter.com/susansslater​ 
author's facebook https://www.facebook.com/susan.slater

Book Details:


Genre: Mystery
Published by: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: July 7, 2015
Number of Pages: 240
ISBN: 978-1-4642-0420-3
Purchase Links:
Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Hair-Dog-Mahoney-Mystery-Mysteries/dp/1464204187​ 
Barnes & Noble http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hair-of-the-dog-susan-slater/1121065334​ 
Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24974807-hair-of-the-dog 

Review: The Curse of Crow Hollow

The Curse of Crow Hollow The Curse of Crow Hollow by Billy Coffey
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Review: THE CURSE OF CROW HOLLOW by Billy Coffey

Author Billy Coffey possesses a multidimensional talent for eliciting a variety of genres: faith, mystery, horror, history, marital, literary, familial, occult, and so much more. He also continuously demonstrates an in-depth comprehension of Appalachian mountain culture and its people. I am determined to read everything he publishes. THE CURSE OF CROW HOLLOW is an unforgettable, magnificently conceptualized, tale of a tiny community in Appalachia and its microcosm of the wider universal human condition. I read this nearly 400-page novel in a single afternoon and evening, and at the end I counted myself astounded at the author's reach, a vastness at which he constantly succeeds.






Release August 4 2015

View all my reviews

Review: Mountain Peak Peril: Be a hero! Create your own adventure to rescue the missing mountaineer

Mountain Peak Peril: Be a hero! Create your own adventure to rescue the missing mountaineer Mountain Peak Peril: Be a hero! Create your own adventure to rescue the missing mountaineer by John Townsend
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

REVIEW: MOUNTAIN PEAK PERIL by John Townsend
and David Shephard

When my children were young [late 1970's through mid 1990's], a series of children's books was very popular. Probably they would now be categorized for middle grades or early elementary. The series was "CHOOSE YOUR OWN ADVENTURE" and in each episode readers could enjoy a variety of exciting possibilities, based on their choices.

In MOUNTAIN PEAK PERIL, subtitled "Create your own adventure to rescue the missing mountaineer," reader's not only glory in adventures, but test their own geography grasp, and learn while questing. What a winning idea!

release Aug. 4 2015

View all my reviews

TOUR: GIVE THEM PUMPKIN TO TALK ABOUT [Pumpkin Patch #1] by Joyce and Jim Lavene






Give ‘Em Pumpkin To Talk About
by Joyce and Jim Lavene

pumpkin to talk aboutGive Em Pumpkin To Talk About
(Pumpkin Patch Mysteries Book 1)

Cozy Mystery
Print Length: 199 pages
Publisher: J. Lavene (August 4, 2015)
ASIN: B00Z7LUVZQ

Synopsis:
Richmond attorney Sarah Tucker returns to sell her family’s abandoned farm in Misty River, Virginia despite unanswered questions about her grandparents’ disappearance sixteen years earlier. Sarah was only twelve when she went to visit and found her grandparents had vanished. No amount of searching has brought answers.
Now Sarah is faced with other issues when a man is killed who claimed to have information about what happened to her grandparents. She learns of a Confederate chest of gold that is said to be buried on the property, and treasure hunters who are willing to do anything to get their hands on it.
Were her grandparents murdered for the gold? Sarah can’t sell the land and go back to her life until she has answers. But the cost of the answers may be her life.
Includes farm-fresh recipes!

10497504_10203996507538565_7985334038155587208_oAbout these Authors

Joyce and Jim Lavene write award-winning, bestselling mystery fiction as themselves, J.J. Cook, and Ellie Grant. They have written and published more than 70 novels for Harlequin, Berkley, Amazon, and Gallery Books along with hundreds of non-fiction articles for national and regional publications. They live in rural North Carolina with their family.

Author Links

www.joyceandjimlavene.com 

www.facebook.com/joyceandjimlavene 

http://amazon.com/author/jlavene 

https://twitter.com/AuthorJLavene

Purchase Link
Amazon

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792177/


Review: GIVE THEM PUMPKIN TO TALK ABOUT by Joyce and Jim Levene

I love this book! I was first intrigued by the title, and its reminder of Bonnie Raitt s wonderful song, (Let's Give Them) "Something to Talk About." Then came the opportunity to review for a tour, and what a great, lovable, fast-paced book it turned out to be. Well-tuned, with plenty of romance, mystery, suspense, history, legend--and some just plain ornery people. The book became a really fast read, because I couldn't bear to stop before finishing! So here's my high recommendation, for GIVE THEM PUMPKIN TO TALK ABOUT," for the series, and for the fine co-authors!



Review: Dog Number 1, Dog Number 10

Dog Number 1, Dog Number 10 Dog Number 1, Dog Number 10 by Ami Rubinger
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Delightful, delightful, delightful-this little storybook is 10 times delightful! I am so eager to read this to my younger grandchildren. This is a special, "read-me-again!!" book.

View all my reviews

FURTHERMORE