NOW ACCEPTING

Now Accepting:


Book Blog Tour Requests

Requests to Review:
Horror
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller
Psychological Suspense
Science Fiction
Occult
Fantasy
Speculative Fiction

Mallory Heart Reviews reserves the right to accept or to reject any specific review request. Due to a monumental review backlog, Mallory Heart Reviews cannot promise a specific review date, with the exception of reviews for Release Days and for Blog Tours as arranged in advance.

Contact: archie.standwood.author@Gmail.com
Or Goodreads PM: Mallory Heart Reviews

Monday, September 1, 2014

THE OTHER LAMB by. blog Tour: Excerpt





Grigory stared directly into the lens, his face framed by chin length hair, slick-looking and dark as crude oil. The wet, pink tip of his tongue protruded slightly from between his full lips, and a suggestion of a smile played at the corners of his mouth. The gap between his two front teeth was just visible. Zach forced himself to meet the singer’s unseeing gaze. Grigory’seyes compelled everyone who looked into them to delve into their hypnotic darkness. Their inky black colour made it impossible to see where the pupils ended and the irises began, marking them as both exquisitely beautiful and somehow terrible. In this photo they had a glassy look, like the intense expression masked some inner turmoil, which might have been pleasure or pain. Zach could almost hear the quickening of Grigory's breath, the raggedness caused by the stress of his exacting pose.

Zach tore his gaze away from the singer's eyes and let it drift upwards, following his lithe and luminously pale arms with their tracery of veins, pinioned above his head and bound together at the wrists with something black and rubbery, perhaps electrical tape. He took inGrigory’s bare, hairless chest and the clearly defined slats of his ribs. His flat stomach muscles pulled taut across his frame. His low-slung trousers revealed jutting hip bones and a trail of wiry hair from below his navel, leading to a thicker, crisp tangle beneath his waistband.

Lost in the image, Zach felt every cell in his body resonate, like he was magnetic, andGrigory was a lodestone. Zach’s skin crawled with myriad phantom insect legs swarming across it. Grigory’s voice filled his head, eerie and fragile, like the ringing of glass. Zach shivered and let his hand trail down his sternum, goose bumps forming in the wake of his touch. He picked up the guitar, and laid it across his chest. He plucked and strummed the strings in time with the song, his fingers erring now and then. He sang softly along with the backing vocals so that his voice mingled and harmonised with Grigory’s. He loved the illusion of intimacy, the strange sense of belonging. His hips shifted as he played, tilting up,and the soft cotton of his pyjama bottoms brushed against him, teasing his sensitive skin.

The guitar solo started up and Zach tried to emulate it although his fingers weren’t quite nimble enough. The notes started long and plaintive and built to a set of blistering arpeggios. Zach played frantically, thin metal strings digging under his clipped nails and scraping the pads of his fingers. He writhed on the bed, plucking faster and faster, until his pinkie caught the E-string too hard. The wire bit into the soft meat of his finger before snapping with a twang.

Zach sucked in a harsh breath and put down the guitar. As soon as he caught the scent of blood, the terrible thirst returned. He brought his finger to his mouth. It was not hisimagination playing tricks; the taste and smell of blood made him crave more. He wanted to drink blood, to feel it, warm and slick, rolling around his mouth and sliding down his throat. The very thought of it made his mouth water. Again, he licked at the place where the blood welled up, but the cut healed almost immediately.








(photo from www.curiosityquills.com)

REVIEWS: THE SORROWS and CASTLE OF SORROWS by JONATHAN JANZ

{suitably subtitled: In Praise of Author Jonathan Janz}



Review: THE SORROWS by Jonathan Janz

I was surprised to realize I had not read this when first published; but as I had acquired the sequel, CASTLE OF SORROWS, to review, I wanted to read this one first. I'm so thankful I did, because I spent two days in the incredible, fabulist, fantastical, reality conceived by outstanding author Jonathan Janz. (I'm using fabulist in the sense of fable; fantastical in the sense of fantasy.) Mr. Janz can stand toe-to-toe in the realm of extreme horror with another favorite author, Edward Lee. Both can pen the most gruesome, gory, graphic, pain, suffering, torture; and explicit sensuality including rape-murder; and yet the writing is so excellent, the characters so intricately defined, that even while the reader cringes, gasps, and tries to turn away, still we are held fast to the page.

If you've read Mr. Janz' THE CLEARING OF TRAVIS COBLE, you know how his stories insinuate themselves into the deepest recesses of your mind and make themselves at home. So grab yourself a cast-iron stomach and blinders, and prepare yourself for the ride of your life, to an unforgettable experience on an isolated island eighty miles from the California coast: welcome to THE SORROWS.




REVIEW: CASTLE OF SORROWS by Jonathan Janz

I leaped at the opportunity to review this book, and then bought the first in the series--THE SORROWS--so I could read the two consecutively. What an experience! A weekend spent reveling in the unforgettable environment of The Sorrows, an isolated, haunted, fantastical island in the Pacific, eighty miles from the Northern California coast, an island of incredible beauty--and unrelenting terror. I literally held my breath while reading the last quarter of the story; and if there so won't be a sequel--well, I'll just SCREAM.









Sunday, August 31, 2014

COVER REVEAL: TIME SQUARE UFO by SW LOTHIAN


 

BLURB

The effects of the Shift have caused havoc at Time Square. Time itself is in danger of imploding and Operation Slingshot has been activated to save the day. Team ELMR embark on their first mission to locate and rescue the first of the missing travellers.

Mission: ELMR-01
Date: 8-July-1947
Location: Roswell, New Mexico, United States of America

Mission Brief: Readings indicate that the target traveller has possibly been captured by a brilliant, but eccentric, scientist who is investigating reports of extra-terrestrials that have crashed in the Roswell area.

Due to this, it is essential that the target is located and rescued before he unwittingly reveals our secret. If the secret of time-travel is revealed to such a random mind, then it could spell disaster and have a huge impact on the world.

 

OR …  IF YOU PREFER …..

Here is the second half of the blurb as it appears in the book.




 


 


 


Amazon link – Available now for pre-orders before launch date of 1st October 2014

http://amzn.com/B00N3XEXPY

 

Follow Me

Subscribe to my NewsFlash

Visit my Website

Follow me on Twitter

Like me on Facebook

 

About Me

S.W. Lothian is a funny and cool guy from Australia. His kids call him 'Phil Dunphy', because he reminds them of the dad from Modern Family. He isn't sure whether this is a compliment or not, but he takes it as a compliment. As an imaginative kid he dreamed of creating exciting worlds and funky characters, and thought he'd be the most famous person to ever do this. He loved to draw and was dux of Art in High School. Top of his dream list was to be an animator. He loved watching all those classic cartoons on TV - Scooby Doo, The Flintstones, The Jetsons, Road Runner, Wacky Races, The Simpsons, the list goes on and on.

BOOM! Reality hit. The dreams were parked as the corporate world beckoned. Then, 25 years later, the long-held dream to create erupted like a jam donut in a microwave and S.W. started writing fiction for kids of all ages.

His books can be summed up as fun-action-packed-time-travel-adventures-for-the-kid-in-everyone. He writes stories to excite, inspire, teach and thrill. Stories with awesome edge-of-your-seat fun. Stories that let kids escape to new places, and adults remember the dreams of their own childhood.

He is the author of the very popular Quest Series (The Golden Scarab, The Cursed Nile, The Fallen Pharaoh), and the first book in his new series, TIME SQUARE | THE SHIFT was let loose on readers in April 2014.

His debut novel, The Golden Scarab, was a 2013 READERS' FAVORITE BOOK AWARD FINALIST.


Saturday, August 30, 2014

Review: THE HARLOT by Ernie Lindsey







REVIEW: THE HARLOT by Ernie Lindsey

Author Ernie Lindsey comes packed with wisdom, and his writing reveals it. I think he's classed by himself when it comes to character-revealing. Some of his descriptions actually figuratively transport me: for example, an individual with sea-green eyes and potentially a hidden and ugly disposition, whose characterization immediately transported me in imagination to the lowest recesses of the ocean where a bottom-feeding predator lurked. Now that was scary!!

Then, scarcely any time passes, before the characters start acting out of character, and violence erupts, followed by worse. The tension is ratcheted so tight I kept expecting the torque wheel to come loose and fly off into space! Imagine confinement with no sense of safety, no recourse, and no escape--I've tensed up just recounting this. I must go back and reread this, just for the sheer resounding pleasure of the terror!

Friday, August 29, 2014

BROKEN FOREST (DAATH CHRONICLES BOOK ONE) by Eliza TILTON





BOOK BLURB:

Hopeless he'll never be more than the boy who didn't save hisbrother, 17-year-old Avikar accepts his life as the family stable boy, trying to forget the past. But when his sister, Jeslyn, is kidnapped, the thought of losing another sibling catapults him on a desperate quest. With his best friend by his side, and using the tracking skills he learned from his father, he discovers Jeslyn has been taken, kidnapped by one Lucino, the young lord of Daath, a mystical place thought only to exist in fables. 

And Lucino has plans for Jeslyn.

His shapeshifter brethren feed off the auras of humans, andJeslyn's golden hue is exactly what Lucino needs to increase his power. The longer it takes Avikar to reach her, the more entranced she becomes with Lucino's world, and the harder it will be for Avikar to set her free.

He failed his family once. He won't fail again.



Author Bio:

Eliza graduated from Dowling College with a BS in Visual Communications. When she’s not arguing with excel at her day job, or playing Dragon Age 2, again, she’s writing. Her stories hold a bit of the fantastical and there’s always a romance. She resides on Long Island with her husband, two kids and one very snuggly pit bull.

 

BUY LINKS:

Amazon / Barnes & Noble / KOBO

Goodreads

Author links:

Twitter / Tumblr / Website  / Pinterest / Facebook /Instagram

Wicked Path: Book Two of The Daath Chronicles releases Oct 6th, 2014, add to your Goodreads TBR HERE

Rafflecopter HTML

<a id="rc-b628bf4c26" class="rafl"href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/b628bf4c26/"rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

<script src="//widget.rafflecopter.com/load.js"></script>






REVIEW: BLOODY RIPPER by T. A. Uner

This excellently written, enticing, story is part of The Leopard King Saga, but functions finely as its own stand-alone. The author treats of my favorite historical horror, the Whitechapel (London) slaughters of 1888; but in.all my many decades of studying Ripper fiction and nonfiction, I've never seen an approach like T. A. Uner's. Here we have the sci first/paranormal/multiple dimensions/horror, and I love it. The thought that these beings can cross dimensions to find their.victims does give me some pause. (What if--it were real?) If you like your horror drippy--bloody, it's right.here. (Remember, Saucy Jack was kind of a messy murderer himself.) Can't wait to read all of this series.


http://archiestandwoodsreviewsandwritings.blogspot.com/2014/08/review-bloody-ripper-by-t-uner-leopard.html

Review: BLOODY RIPPER by T. A. Uner. (LEOPARD KING SAGA 1.5)






REVIEW: BLOODY RIPPER by T. A. Uner

This excellently written, enticing, story is part of The Leopard King Saga, but functions finely as its own stand-alone. The author treats of my favorite historical horror, the Whitechapel (London) slaughters of 1888; but in.all my many decades of studying Ripper fiction and nonfiction, I've never seen an approach like T. A. Uner's. Here we have the sci first/paranormal/multiple dimensions/horror, and I love it. The thought that these beings can cross dimensions to find their.victims does give me some pause. (What if--it were real?) If you like your horror drippy--bloody, it's right.here. (Remember, Saucy Jack was kind of a messy murderer himself.) Can't wait to read all of this series.

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Review: STICKS, STONES, AND DRAGON BONES (BOOK ONE DRAGON BONES Series) by Evelyn Ink





Review: STICKS, STONES, AND DRAGON BONES by Evelyn Ink
(THE DRAGON BONES SERIES BOOK ONE)

Without in.any way being derivative, this lovely middle-grade fantasy reminds me of the exciting fantasy adventures of the 1950's and 1960's, with dedicated authors such as John Bellaire and Lloyd Alexander. Today that tradition is amply continued by Dan Poblocki, and now, Evelyn Ink.

The Darlingtons are a very special family, in a very special household, in a delightfully SPECIAL home. Oh, if I could only.have lived a childhood like this, abundant to overflowing with imagination, joy, fantastical adventures (literally), research and study and experimentation--and virulent sibling.rivalry.

Review: STOLEN by Dawn Kopman Whidden




Review: STOLEN by Dawn Kopman Whidden

Wow--what a gritty, realistic, story this is: author Dawn Kopman Whidden is unafraid to.focus on some of the most serious and disturbing issues of contemporary society: health issues like cancer and brain.tumours; crime issues of brutal murder, child abduction and sexual abuse, pedophilia, adolescent runaways. Despite the horrible situations presented, both past and present, confirmed or uncertain, the.novel is compelling and very.fast-paced. The story practically turned its own pages.

Review: SIX FEET UNDER by Jennifer Longo




I LOVE THIS BOOK! It's perfect!  I love the protagonist, her life, the setting,  the secondaries--and I.totally especially love the theme. Over the last year and a half or so, I've approached every YA book with a mental-emotional "?" before me: am I going to love it or hate it? Will I be enthusiastic--or bored to stone? There's a reason for my confusion:  I used to love the YA genre, beginning about the time I.discovered Kimberley Dert' s The Body Finder, and I.gleefully devoured YA books...until one afternoon in mid-March 2013, when I reached 51% of a novel (to.remain unnamed) and metaphorically tossed up my Kindle, silently and melodramactically shouting, "I can't take any more of this high school angst!!!"  Since that time, I approach the genre with tenterhooks. Sometimes I get lucky--very lucky (Aramintha Star Matthews' Return of the Loving Dead leaps to mind) and now, my newly beloved favorite, SIX FEET OVER IT. I'm in love.

Monday, August 25, 2014

Review: THE SIXTEEN (Soul Jumpers Book Two) by Ali B.




A fast-moving tale aimed at middle school and preteen readers, THE SIXTEEN is the second entry in author Ali B.'s SOUL JUMPERS series, with plenty of action, metaphysics, and philosophy to keep adults turning pages too and anticipating the next installment. Poor Iris Brave: her father dies, he's held culpable, and her mother goes broke trying to pay the damages. But: Iris' s dad Micah Isn't really deceased, and he was not at fault: he was framed. He isn't "dead" because he's a soul jumper, and he took over an adolescent boy's body. And much to her surprise, Iris discovers she is a soul jumper too.

COVER REVEAL: NIGHT OF PAN by Gail Strickland


 

Night of Pan, by Gail Strickland

 

Genre: young-adult, historical-fantasy

 

Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press

 

Date of Release: November 7, 2014

 

Series: Book One of The Oracle of Delphi Trilogy

 

Cover Artist: Ricky Gunawan (http://ricky-gunawan.daportfolio.com/)

 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22391588-night-of-pan

 

Description:

 

The slaughter of the Spartan Three Hundred at Thermopylae, Greece 480 BCE—when King Leonidas tried to stop the Persian army with only his elite guard—is well known. But just what did King Xerxes do after he defeated the Greeks?

 

Fifteen-year-old Thaleia is haunted by visions: roofs dripping blood, Athens burning. She tries to convince her best friend and all the villagers that she’s not crazy. The gods do speak to her.

 

And the gods have plans for this girl.

 

When Xerxes’ army of a million Persians marches straight to the mountain village Delphi to claim the Temple of Apollo’s treasures and sacred power, Thaleia’s gift may be her people’s last line of defense.

 

Her destiny may be to save Greece…

…but is one girl strong enough to stop an entire army?

 

Pre-order on Amazon nowhttp://amzn.com/B00MQGNYVS

 

--


 

About The Author:

While studying the Classics in college, Gail Strickland translated much of Homer’s ILIAD and ODYSSEY, Herodotus’ prophecies and THE BACCHAI by Euripides. Living on the Greek islands after college, she discovered her love of myth, the wine-dark sea and retsina.

THE BALTIMORE REVIEW and WRITER’S DIGEST have recognized Gail’s fiction. She published stories and poems in Travelers’ Tales’ anthologies and the San Francisco Writer’s anthology. Her poetry and photography were published in a collection called CLUTTER.

Born in Brooklyn, New York, Gail grew up in Northern California. She raised her children; was a musical director for CAT children’s theater; taught music in schools; mentored young poets and novelists and introduced thousands of youngsters to piano and Greek mythology. Gail is passionate about bringing the richness of Homer’s language and culture to today’s youth.

Find Gail Strickland Online:

Website (http://www.gailstricklandauthor.com/)Facebook(https://www.facebook.com/pages/Gail-Strickland/236766709783010) | Twitter(https://twitter.com/Gailstrickland1)Goodreads(https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8287635.Gail_StricklandGoogle +(https://plus.google.com/+GailStrickland/posts)

FURTHERMORE